Posted in journal, random

What 2017 Was Like.

It’s the last Episode for the year 2017!

As a mother of two and an older sibling to many, I find myself constantly thinking about children. Little innocent souls…
It’s the end of the year 2017 already, and it’s been such an amazing year for me. I remember a post I made on my Facebook page, January this year, claiming “this year is going to be a successfully busy one for me…”, It came to pass.
I actually had no mapped out plan, no well thought out time table, no event-marked calendar or anything else to that effect. I was simply optimistic, and that was enough to make the prophesy come true and through. Prophesy? Yes indeed! That was how it felt when everything started unfolding.
Most of the unfolded events have already been discussed in past episodes of this journal. And it’s worthy to note that the year ended on a good tone for me, personally, and the NGO I run.
I staunchly believe that “for the children, let us save the world by spreading the message of love through charity”. This has led me to Kickstart a Non-Governmental Organization, the NobleHeart Children Foundation, sometime in October 2016, after brewing the passion for a few months. We had our 1st partnership with Arms of Clemency, Unilag, in October 2016, and our very first outreach in December 2016.

It was an outreach to celebrate the season, with love, with needy children in our society. Hence it was tagged #LoveAChild. With little material and human resources, we pulled it through. It wasn’t an easy call for me to reach out to people seeking financial assistance, so I spoke with a few friends and relatives, and with the support of the very few among them who responded positively, the project was a success. The second edition was held a couple of weeks back and we also celebrated our first anniversary.
That set the pace and it has been a roller-coaster of successful events for every quarter of the year 2017; The foundation recorded a few more outreaches, individually and in partnership with other NGO(s).

Personally, the year has been an amazingly successful one. It was one of exploration, personal development, self-discovery, testing fresh waters, crossing new borders, making new acquaintances, connecting with more people, discovering more passions, etc. It was a year of insight, awakening and enlightenment, a year of a great many challenges but above all, it was a year of positive energy and success.
“To whom much is given, much is expected.”
With my new attitude to life, after an insightful trip through my mind, came a kind of clear road map.
I didn’t set out this way. I’ve never been a “5-year-goal-planner” kind of person, I live my life one step a time. Now, I am more than grateful to God for the woman I’m becoming. At a year above two decades and half a dozen, I haven’t seen it all just yet, but I’ve been through failed expectations, genuine hurt, true disappointment, lustful desires, honest envy, subtle pretense and lies, etc.
I’ve fallen to such great extent that I can’t recall the number of times I picked myself back up. I’m however mostly grateful to the Almighty God that I’ve never had a reason to dwell in sadness, there have been countless of reasons to be happy all year long. I’ve met folks who brightened my moments, I’ve happened across people who gave me reasons to keep going, I’ve been supported by genuine friends and surrounded by sincere and beautiful personalities. I can say that I’ve had my fair share of the two sides of the coin of life.
Most importantly, I’ve given in the same measure I’ve accepted and even more.
That in itself is my true definition of living.
“Sometimes we live life waiting for tragedy”
My children are grown now. Never mind me saying “grown” like they are adults. I mean, they’ve grown beyond my fears and uncertainties when I first started my journey in pursuit of my dreams. My daughter is now a five-year old (wise) beauty and her brother is a two-year old smart (troublesome) boy. Holidays still remain our favorite reunion moments for the whole family.
I’ve been a fortunate lady, that I must confess, and I’m most grateful to God Almighty for this favor, as a believer. My only fear, at this stage of my life is having any tragedy befall my children. So I cry each time I find any child(ren) in any tragic situation whatsoever, my only thought usually is “that could be my child”. My days are therefore spent seeking ways to better the lives of children around, and my nights praying to God Almighty to keep my children and all safe.
“Life is only what you make of it”

So, I had my first flight and train travel experience this year. I stepped out of the southwest and paid visits to a couple of states in the north. I had the privilege of being hosted, with others, at the Chinese and Finnish embassies in the Federal Capital Territory, during the Abuja International Model United Nations Conference

and I had loads of other exciting moments in the year.

I hope to have my sea travel experience and also have a more fulfilling and amazingly successful year come 2018.
I also hope to have my books finally published. I’m sure there are lots of other projects brewing and a container-full of ideas waiting to be unleashed already.
I believe strongly that 2018 would come with new opportunities, renewal of dreams and passions and realignment of priorities; Faith, Family, Academics, Dream, Career, Passion etc.
I have no mapped out plan as usual, save my optimism, positivism and absolute trust in God as the disposer of all affairs. And trust me, I’m not leaving any of those 2017 energy behind.
“I’m set upon a path… so help me God.”
Mar’yam Thaoban
NobleHeart

Author:

Award winning poet, Writer, Mom, child Welfarist, trained Journalist, Youth Advocate, Multipreneur, Adventurer, above all a Believer in my chosen faith and respecter of others'

8 thoughts on “What 2017 Was Like.

  1. This is inspiring sister. You are an inspiration. May Allah strengthen you more and surround you with people who will help actualise your goals.

    Like

  2. I consider YOU an inspiration and role model not only to millions of youth today but also to those of us who are much older. In truth,the Almighty God created us to be a blessing wherever we go. May the Lord God Almighty continue to guide and guard you.

    Like

  3. What a beautiful experience, and a well mapped out year, Alhamdulillah… We pray this year is far better and brighter for us than the previous, Ameen.

    Like

Leave a comment