Posted in journal

Episode 6: The Interview I



So, I found this interview in my archive. I remember quite all right when it was conducted, sometimes last year, by an online based medium. After they got to know about the “journal of a student-mother”. 
Reading through it again made me realize that the information in it is still as relevant as ever, I then decided to share it in this episode of the journal. 

Q: WHAT WILL YOU LIKE TO TELL THE WORLD ABOUT YOURSELF, YOUR IDEOLOGY AND BELIEVF ABOUT LIFE?

I: I’m a young mother of two who believes being a mother shouldn’t hinder one’s educational pursuit. I’m also a passionate writer, an Award-winning poet and a dilettante journalist. I believe in youths’ empowerment and good leadership. In addition, I’m an aspiring Senior Advocate of Nigeria, currently studying law at the University of Lagos. I believe life is to be lived in preparation for the hereafter. Hence, I strive to live a good life and pray for a better end and the best hereafter.

Q: TELL US MORE ABOUT YOUR EDUCATIONAL BACKGROUND?

I: I had my primary education at Sesame Kiddies, Surulere, Lagos. Then I attended Al-Hikmat College, Alimosho Lagos, for my Junior secondary education. I later attended Sango Senior Secondary School where I obtained my Secondary School Leaving Certificate. Afterwards, I attended Marcazul Uloom, Otubu, Agege Lagos, there I obtained an Idaadiyah Certificate in Arabic and Islamic studies because I have to seek knowledge about my pristine Islam. I later got admitted into the Nigerian Institute of Journalism (NIJ), where I had a National Diploma Certificate in Journalism.

Q: DID YOUR FAMILY BACKGROUND INFLUENCE YOUR GROWTH?

I: My family background influenced my growth in a positive way because, I’m from a family where knowledge is valued, especially the Arabic and Islamic knowledge. I remember my father telling us at a very tender age the Hadith of the prophet (SAW) that says “seeking knowledge is compulsory upon all able Muslims” and “seek knowledge even if it as far as China”. With that, and countless other advices and admonitions, day and night, I grew to become a lover of knowledge and a woman of so many passions and righteous dreams.

Q: AS A YOUNG MOTHER OF TWO, HOW DO YOU COPE COMBINING YOUR MARITAL LIFE WITH EDUCATION AND ISLAM?

I: Maa Shaa Allah, it has been Allah’s mercies so far. And with a supportive husband and parents who have always been there, Allah has been making it easy. My mother has been helping with taking care of the children, so my mind is always at ease to study well while at school. And my husband has been very understanding and selfless in allowing me pursue my dreams at the expense of his marital pleasures. And my father has been a wonderful backbone all the way, never ceasing his financial and moral support, and always there to admonish me and put me back on track. 

Q: IS MARRIAGE AN OBSTACLE THAT AFFECTS ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE? PLEASE SHARE YOUR EXPERIENCE.

I: Marriage is in no way an obstacle affecting academic excellence, this I say with all honesty. In fact, I believe it is a means to attain academic excellence because, you have more (things) to challenge and inspire you, especially a supportive spouse. By Allah’s grace, I was one of the best students during the years I spent as a National Diploma undergraduate, and I’m working and praying towards becoming one now as well.

Q: CAN YOU DESCRIBE YOUR HUSBAND IN FEW WORDS‎?

I: My husband is a selfless Muslim and a kind man.

Q: WHAT WERE THE STRATEGIES THAT WORKED FOR YOU?

I: Strategies that worked for me includes, leaving home worries at home or locking them in a safe somewhere in my heart as soon as I reach my school gate, and never taking school worries home, aside assignments. I do most of my serious academic works at night.

Q: DO YOU HAVE A PARTICULAR SCHEDULE YOU ADHERE TO STRICTLY?

I: I’m not exactly a routine person, so there’s no particular schedule I adhere to “strictly” except for my after ‘Salat Adhkar’. Although, there are some things I do in a particular way most times, I gladly welcome the change when it occurs.

Q: DO YOU HAVE A DRIVING FORCE AND WHO ARE YOUR MENTORS?

I: My children and siblings are my number one driving force, they inspire me and make me strive to be among the best. My parents are my mentors, especially my father because in him, I see examples of the Prophet’s teachings’.

Q: HAVE YOU EVER REGRETTED TAKING ANY ACTION?

I: I have only deeply regretted not taking some actions when I ought to. Like, not standing up  for Islam when I should. Or not defending the rights of the oppressed when I can. And not speaking out against hateful insinuations about Islam by someone or a group of people.

Q: YOU ARE A FORMER AMEERAH OF MSSN-NIJ, WHAT WAS YOUR EXPERIENCE LIKE?

I: Being the former Ameerah of MSSN-NIJ was a remarkable albeit tasking experience for me. We had very little resources and even lesser or next to nothing percentage of Muslims in the school due to some internal factors in the school. However, we give all thanks to Allah that our tenure was able to thrive and hand over to another bright-minded executive who’ll ensure MSSN-NIJ survives despite all odds.

Q: WHAT PROMPTED YOU TO STUDY LAW AFTER A NATIONAL DIPLOMA IN MASS COMMUNICATION?

I: Studying Law was a dream I intended to pursue, due to some personal events and experiences in my life and the lives of people around me. However, after two failed attempts to secure admission into the University, I decided to pursue journalism, being a woman of several passions which included writing. I then decided to seek admission again, to study my dream course after the completion of my ND, and Allah gave His consent.

Q: WHO IS YOUR MOST PREFERRED SAHAABA (FEMALE)?

I: Sayyidatuna Aa’ishah – She’s my most preferred female Sahaabah because she was an epitome of wisdom, bravery and piety. She was one of the Prophet’s wives, a female scholar and also a courageous woman.

Q: YOUR ADVICE TO MUSLIM SISTERS?

I: My Advice to Muslim sisters is that they should live a good life, pray for a better end and the best hereafter. And please, get married early, it is the teaching of the Holy Prophet Muhammad (SAW).

Thanks for reading this episode of the journal. 

Kindly drop your thoughts in the comments box below. 

Author:

Award winning poet, Writer, Mom, child Welfarist, trained Journalist, Youth Advocate, Multipreneur, Adventurer, above all a Believer in my chosen faith and respecter of others'

Leave a comment